Staatstheater Nürnberg
Home > 21/22 Programme > Silence



4th Philharmonic Concert with works by Cage, Ligeti and Mahler

Dirigentin: Joana Mallwitz

Friday, 18/02/2022

08.00 PM - 10.00 PM


07.15 PM Introduction (in German)


Abo K, Abo S5

Joana Mallwitz

The 4th Philharmonic Concert brings together pieces that were beacons of the avant-garde in their time and are now considered classical. The silent orchestra in Cage’s “4'33” is at once musical prank and profound, spiritual reflection but in any case an iconic work of modernism. In his “Atmosphères” Ligeti dispenses with interval harmony, rhythm and structural technique and instead makes the orchestra the place of origin of a magical sound space, a “musical labyrinth filled with sounds and delicate noises”. In his Symphony No. 5 Gustav Mahler launches the 20th century with a funeral march, intensifies it to “the chaos that is ever begetting a new world” and goes from there to the Adagietto, which emerges from silence and leads listeners back into it.

Dates and cast

Cast on 18/02/2022

Additional Information

> What's On

> Digitaler Fundus


This site uses third-party website tracking technologies in order to provide and improve its services and display advertisements relating to the interests of its users. Some of the third-party providers transfer data to servers in the United States, which may be associated with increased risk. Details can be found in the relevant cookie settings and in the privacy notice. Your consent is voluntary. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Further information Data protection Imprint

These cookies are indispensable for the functioning of our website. They are automatically deleted when you close your browser or after a period of inactivity (24 hours).

These cookies collect information on how you use our website. They do not store any information that allows the user to be identified. Statistical data is deleted either automatically within 30 days or after evaluation has been completed, whichever period is longer.