Staatstheater Nürnberg
Home > ZAPATOS ROJOS – RED SHOES
Zapatos rojos-header

Zapatos rojos – Red shoes

Art event as our new production of “Talestri” at the Staatstheater Nürnberg in the 2022/23 season.

Zapatos rojos in Nuremberg

Saturday, 12th November 2022, 15.00 - 20.00, Richard-Wagner-Platz in front of the Opernhaus

Mexican artist Elina Chauvet created her Red Shoes installation for the first time in 2009, choosing a public square in Juárez Chihuahua in which to draw attention to victims of femicide, with each murdered woman represented by a pair of shoes. The installation has now been replicated around the globe. Elina Chauvet’s art initiative is participatory in nature: citizens everywhere are asked to donate shoes and get involved in the project.

Pairs of donated shoes can be dropped off at the entrance to the Opernhaus. They will be stained red and become part of the installation. Alternatively, bring your shoes on the 12th November and do the staining and exhibiting yourself.

Elina Chauvet on “Zapatos rojos”

Zapatos Rojos Instalación de Arte Público is a public art installation, an artwork in which people are invited to participate. It is an appeal to our conscience to show worldwide solidarity with women who have experienced violence and to give and succour and support to women, girls and teenagers who continue to disappear or be murdered under the indifferent gaze of the authorities.

Zapatos rojos began on 22nd August 2009 in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahau, Mexico, as a march in support of 33 missing women, an initiative that has been attracting like-minded adherents ever since, all united in publicising the absence of the women and the pain associated with the loss. Today this expression of solidarity has spread to many countries across Europe and America including Argentina, Italy, Spain, Norway, Great Britain, Sweden, Chile, Ecuador, USA, Canada, Brazil, Paraguay and France.

Zapatos rojos is our collective memory, a conspiracy, an empty space, a silent protest, a yearning, a return of loved ones.

Zapatos rojos-2


About “Talestri”

This opera by Maria Antonia Walpurgis had its world premiere in 1760 and will premiere at the Staatstheater Nürnberg on 13th November. “Talestri” tells the tale of Amazon women who have formed their own society, completely separate from the violent world of men. Their leader is Tomiri, who suffered rape as a teenaged girl and has made it her mission to protect women from men. Her realisation that a world divided like this is not sustainable comes when Talestri falls in love with Oronte, a man who does not conform to the cliché of the brutal ruler. When this man turns out to be Tomiris son that she bore following her rape, she cannot bring herself to rescind the death sentence on him for entering their Amazon world without permission. Oronte proposes a revamped version of a non-segregated society, but not all are in favour …



Photos:
Bergamo, Italiy 2013, Photo © Silvia Somaschini
Cremona, Italy 2015, Photo © Elina Chauvet

> What's On

> Digitaler Fundus

Top

This site uses third-party website tracking technologies in order to provide and improve its services and display advertisements relating to the interests of its users. Some of the third-party providers transfer data to servers in the United States, which may be associated with increased risk. Details can be found in the relevant cookie settings and in the privacy notice. Your consent is voluntary. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Further information Data protection Imprint

These cookies are indispensable for the functioning of our website. They are automatically deleted when you close your browser or after a period of inactivity (24 hours).

These cookies collect information on how you use our website. They do not store any information that allows the user to be identified. Statistical data is deleted either automatically within 30 days or after evaluation has been completed, whichever period is longer.

Staatstheater Nürnberg
Home > ZAPATOS ROJOS – ROTE SCHUHE
Zapatos rojos-header

Zapatos rojos – Rote Schuhe

Kunstaktion im Rahmen der Opern-Neuproduktion „Talestri“ des Staatstheaters Nürnberg in der Spielzeit 2022/23

Zapatos rojos in Nürnberg

Samstag, 12. November 2022, 15.00 bis 20.00 Uhr, Richard-Wagner-Platz vor dem Opernhaus

2009 installierte die mexikanische Künstlerin Elina Chauvet in Juárez Chihuahua zum ersten Mal rote Schuhe auf einem öffentlichen Platz, um auf die Opfer von Femiziden hinzuweisen. Jedes Paar Schuhe steht dabei für eine Frau, die Opfer eines Femizids geworden ist. Mittlerweile wurde die Kunstinstallation weltweit wiederholt. Die Kunstaktion von Elina Chauvet ist ein partizipatives Kunstwerk: Aufgerufen sind alle Bürger*innen, Schuhe zu spenden und sich an der Aktion zu beteiligen.

Ab sofort können Sie die Schuhe an der Theaterpforte abgeben, sie werden dann vom Theater eingefärbt und Teil der Installation. Oder Sie bringen Ihre Schuhe am 12. November mit, färben sie vor Ort ein und stellen sie selbst auf.

Elina Chauvet über „Zapatos rojos“

Zapatos Rojos Instalación de Arte Público ist eine Kunstinstallation im Öffentlichen Raum, ein relationales, partizipatives Kunstwerk. Es ist ein Appell an unser Gewissen, sich mit den Frauen weltweit zu solidarisieren, die Gewalt erfahren haben; und ein Appell, sich um die Frauen, Mädchen und Jugendlichen zu sorgen, die nach wie vor unter den gleichgültigen Blicken der Behörden verschwinden oder ermordet werden.

Zapatos rojos begann am 22. August 2009 in Ciudad Juarez im mexikanischen Bundesstaat Chihuahua als Marsch für 33 abwesende Frauen, auf dessen Weg immer mehr Gleichgesinnte dazu kamen, um das Fehlen der Frauen und den Schmerz darüber sichtbar zu machen. Mittlerweile ist eine große solidarische Bewegung entstanden, die in vielen Ländern Amerikas und Europas (Mexiko, Argentinien, Italien, Spanien, Norwegen, Großbritannien, Schweden, Chile, Ecuador, USA, Kanada, Brasilien Paraguay, Frankreich, u.a.) präsent ist.

Zapatos rojos ist das kollektive Gedächtnis, eine Beschwörung, eine Leerstelle, ein Schweigemarsch, eine Sehnsucht, eine Heimkehr derer, die wir lieben.

Zapatos rojos-2


Zur Oper „Talestri“

Die Oper von Maria Antonia Walpurgis wurde etwa im Jahr 1760 uraufgeführt. Am 13. November hat die Inszenierung am Staatstheater Nürnberg Premiere. „Talestri“ erzählt von Amazonen, die sich von der gewalttätigen Welt der Männer abgekapselt und eine ausschließlich weibliche Gesellschaft gegründet haben. Bewahrerin dieses Systems ist Tomiri, die als Jugendliche vergewaltigt wurde und es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, Frauen vor Männern zu schützen. Dass diese zweigeteilte Welt nicht funktionieren kann, wird ihr deutlich, nachdem sich Talestri in Oronte verliebt, einem Mann der nicht dem Klischee des gewalttätigen Beherrschers entspricht. Als sich dieser Mann als Tomiris eigener Sohn entpuppt, den sie infolge der Vergewaltigung geboren hatte, scheint es ihr nahezu unmöglich, sein unbefugtes Eindringen in die Amazonenwelt mit dem Tod zu bestrafen. Oronte selbst schlägt einen Neuanfang einer gemeinsamen Gesellschaft vor, doch nicht alle sind davon begeistert …



Fotos:
Bergamo, Italien 2013, Foto © Silvia Somaschini
Cremona, Italien 2015, Foto © Elina Chauvet

> Spielplan

> Digitaler Fundus

Nach oben

Diese Seite nutzt Website Tracking-Technologien von Dritten, um ihre Dienste anzubieten, stetig zu verbessern und Werbung entsprechend der Interessen der User anzuzeigen. Einige der Drittanbieter übertragen Daten an Server in den USA, womit ein erhöhtes Risiko verbunden sein kann. Informationen hierzu erhalten Sie in den Cookie-Einstellungen bei den jeweiligen Cookies sowie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Ihre Einwilligung ist freiwillig. Sie können Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern.

Weitere Hinweise Datenschutzerklärung Impressum

Diese Cookies sind von grundlegender Bedeutung für die Funktion unserer Website. Sie werden automatisch gelöscht, wenn der lokale Browser geschlossen wird oder eine gewisse Zeit (24 Stunden) vergangen ist, ohne dass der Nutzer auf der Website Aktionen durchgeführt hat.

Diese Cookies sammeln Informationen darüber, wie Sie unsere Website verwenden. Sie speichern keine Informationen, die eine persönliche Identifikation des Benutzers erlauben. Statistische Daten werden anlasslos binnen 30 Tagen automatisch gelöscht, beziehungsweise nach Abschluss der Aus- und Verwertung, je nachdem, was länger ist.