Staatstheater Nürnberg
Home > What's On > MID-LIFE



8th Philharmonic Concert with works by Johannes Brahms und Antonin Dvořák

Dirigent: Gerrit Prießnitz

Klavier: Jae Hong Park

Friday, 12/07/2024

08.00 PM


07.15 PM Introduction (in German)


Abo K, Abo S4

GerritPriessnitz credit VIKIVUCHEVA

Brahms took his time over his first piano concerto, and the period was overshadowed by his friend Robert Schumann’s attempt to commit suicide. The second movement is a “gentle portrayal” of Clara Schumann, while the first and final movements are a testimony to passionate despair – or desperate passion. Brahms helped Antonín Dvořák establish himself as a composer just as Schumann had supported Brahms before – and as with Schumann a close friendship grew up between the two. Dvořák learned how to deftly develop his 6th-Symphony themes from his mentor, whereas his cheerful, folksy airs were a direct legacy of his Bohemian homeland.

Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, op. 15
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 6 in D major, op 60

Dates and cast

Cast on 12/07/2024

Information on buying Tickets

Performance sold out on your desired date? Get on our waiting list and we’ll contact you if tickets become available for your chosen day! If ticket sales for your desired date have not yet opened, those on the waiting list will be at the head of the queue. Just tell us which production, date and seats you’re interested in (include alternatives if possible) and we’ll do our best to oblige. Here you can reach our ticket service.

> What's On

> Digitaler Fundus